The New Policy Instruments and Approaches Collection

 A place to start your exploration 

Follow your curiosity to reach better policy outcomes through this collection of articles created by public servants in Canada’s Policy Community*.

What you’ll find here are some basic information on instruments and approaches, examples of application in a government context and what to keep in mind as public policy practitioners as you consider making them part of your thinking and process. 

This collection is a work in progress and many articles are a bit dated. That said, we wanted to make it available in light of the abundance of policy work and opportunities to consider these new policy instruments and approaches during and post COVID-19. Are you available to help enrich the content (e.g., see examples missing? Know of some insights that can be shared?), please let us know 

Artificial Intelligence
Artificial intelligence (AI) is a term used to describe a suite of related technologies intended to simulate and enhance human cognitive capabilities, such as pattern recognition, judgment, vision, or hearing. Its evolution can be divided into three stages: AI, as it currently exists (weak AI), can ...
Read More
Behavioural Insights
Most people want to make healthier life decisions, be financially responsible and contribute to a sustainable society and environment. However, most of us also have lives full of obstructions to making the decisions that uphold these goals. Behavioural insights (BI) uses techniques from behavioural ...
Read More
Big Data
Big data generally refers to datasets so large and complex they create significant challenges for traditional data management and analysis tools in practical timeframes. Often it refers to the use of predictive analytics or other advanced methods to extract value from data. These datasets exist beca...
Read More
Blockchain
Blockchain[1] “In a nutshell, blockchain is a technology ‘borrowed’ from the cryptocurrency Bitcoin and provides us with a decentralized, verifiable and immutable ledger of ‘transactions’. Those transactions could be electronic currencies but could also be health records, immunizations, in...
Read More
Citizen Science
Citizen science is a research technique that utilizes local citizens as resources to gather information for scientists in a large research project. Citizen Scientists do not necessarily have any scientific background, but they volunteer their time to observe, record and report data for scientists. T...
Read More
Crowdsourcing
Crowdsourcing is the practice of obtaining needed services, ideas, content or data by soliciting contributions from a large group of people, typically via an online platform, rather than from traditional employees or suppliers (Merriam-Webster). Crowdsourcing goes beyond traditional surveys, citizen...
Read More
Data Analytics
Big Data is a term used to describe the collection, storing and processing of huge volumes of data. These data sources come from internal data sources such as purchasing or case management systems and external data sources from citizens, suppliers, partners and social networks to name a few. Using c...
Read More
Design Thinking
Design thinking is a set of principles, practices and processes that are used in developing products, experiences and services based on the needs of the user. Design thinking has been repurposed to help governments develop better policies, programs, and services centered on users’ needs, by having...
Read More
Experimentation
Experimentation entails using a rigorous method to test an idea or an approach to help identify what does and doesn’t work. By testing policy and program interventions or services at a small-scale, governments can generate evidence to learn what works and then make decisions on implementing larger...
Read More
Foresight
Foresight is a process of anticipating and managing change. Foresight methods are used for strategic policy and planning to systematically imagine plausible futures based on current data, trends and policies. The most common foresight approach is scenario planning. Scenarios are credible, challengin...
Read More
Gamification
Gamification is the use of game elements and game design techniques in non-game contexts. By incorporating game elements such as points, quests, avatars, or levels to real life challenges, organizations may create incentives that change in behaviour and stimulate innovation by supporting engagement ...
Read More
Hackathon/Appathon
A hackathon is an intense (usually 24-72 hours long) and creative event during which participants are put into teams that build solutions related to a predetermined theme. Traditionally hackathons (and their cousins Appathons, Codefests, and Pitch Camps) result in new apps, software programs, or pro...
Read More
Innovation Hubs/Labs
Innovation Hubs/Labs (also known as innovation teams, labs, units) are differentiated from other teams in that they often adopt new and experimental methods to tackle various social and public issues. They come in a variety of sizes, use a range of techniques, and are equipped with different resourc...
Read More
Open Data
Open data is data that is structured and machine-readable, freely shared, used and built on without restrictions (open.canada.ca). As a building block of open knowledge, open data promotes a robust and accessible commons, and interoperability is maximized by allowing for efficient combination or “...
Read More
Open Policy Making
Open Policy Making refers broadly to the process of creating government policy with direct contributions from the public and other external parties. It includes the mindset, process and tools that create an “open by default” environment for governments to engage with citizens and other stakehold...
Read More
Pay for Performance
Pay-for-performance (PFP) refers to funding arrangements where a commissioning organization financially rewards service delivery organizations (or private investors in the case of a social impact bond) for achieving agreed upon outcome targets. PFP is sometimes referred to as Pay-for-Success (PFS) i...
Read More
Prizes/Challenges
Prize challenges are a form of crowdsourcing that use competitions with prizes (e.g. monetary, recognition, access, etc.) to incent broad or targeted participation in helping to solve particular problems. Prize challenges can be used in a broad range of disciplines (e.g. technical, scientific, polic...
Read More
Public Service Mutuals
The “public service mutual” (PSM) or mutual is shorthand for a variety of initiatives, based on mutual or cooperative governance that in whole or in part delivers public services and in which employee or member control plays a significant role in their operation. Well-designed mutualization can ...
Read More
Serious Games
Serious games, which include case competitions, simulations, board games like Policy Horizon’s game “Impact” and many other examples, are a great way to get people to learn and collaborate. The ‘serious’ in the title signals that these games aren’t just for fun, but provide users and org...
Read More
Smart Regulation
Smart Regulation aims to achieve public confidence in regulatory effectiveness while limiting the burden on those being regulated. Smart regulation often promotes a ‘bottom-up approach’ to regulation that offers regulated entities the flexibility to develop their own strategies to meet prescribe...
Read More
Social Innovation
There are many definitions for “social innovation”, which all broadly refer to new solutions that better address complex social challenges, such as youth homelessness, long-term unemployment, or the social isolation of seniors. These solutions can include programming, processes, types of organiz...
Read More
Social Metrics
Social metrics are the measurement and articulation of social outcomes. They tend to describe ways to measure the change that individuals experience as a result of a particular intervention and are often used by organizations to articulate the impact of their programming. Social metrics represent t...
Read More

Nothing Found

Sorry, we didn’t find anything. Try another search?


*Initial content was crowdsourced from a number of Government of Canada teams and was informed by in-house, contextual expertise and validated through interviews with leading practitioners from outside the Public Service. See examples missing? Know of some insights that can be shared? Please let us know.

La collection Instruments et approches de politiques

Un endroit pour commencer votre exploration

Suivez votre curiosité pour obtenir de meilleurs résultats en matière de politiques publiques grâce à cette petite bibliothèque d'articles rédigés par des fonctionnaires de la Communauté des politiques du Canada * . Vous y trouverez des évaluations honnêtes d’outils et de méthodes et ce que vous devez garder à l'esprit en élaborant des politiques publiques, si vous envisagez de les intégrer à votre processus et à votre réflexion.

Cette bibliothèque est un travail en cours et de nombreux articles sont un peu dépassés. Cela dit, nous avons voulu la rendre disponible compte-tenu de l'abondance du travail à faire et des possibilités d'examiner ces nouveaux instruments et approches de politiques publiques pendant et après COVID-19. Si vous êtes disponible pour nous aider à enrichir le contenu (par exemple, s’il manque des exemples ? Si vous connaissez des idées qui peuvent être partagées ?), nous serons heureux de les connaître

.

Centres et laboratoires
Les centres et laboratoires d'innovation (également appelés équipes ou unités d'innovation) diffèrent des autres équipes en ce qu’ils adoptent souvent des méthodes nouvelles et expérimentales pour s’attaquer à différents enjeux sociaux ou publics. Leur taille, les techniques utilisées...
Lire la suite
Chaîne de Blocs
« En résumé, la chaîne de blocs est une technologie “empruntée” à la cryptomonnaie Bitcoin qui nous offre un registre de “transactions” décentralisé, vérifiable et immuable. Ces transactions peuvent porter sur des devises électroniques, mais aussi sur des dossiers médicaux, des va...
Lire la suite
Défis des prix
Les défis des prix sont une forme d’externalisation ouverte qui fait appel à des compétitions dotées de prix (p. ex., prix en argent, reconnaissance, accès, etc.) pour susciter une participation ciblée ou générale à la résolution de problèmes particuliers. Les défis des prix peuvent ê...
Lire la suite
Données ouvertes
Les données ouvertes sont des données structurées, lisibles à la machine, qui peuvent être librement partagées, utilisées et mises à profit par quiconque, sans restriction (ouvert.canada.ca). En tant qu’élément de base des connaissances ouvertes, les données ouvertes favorisent l’éta...
Lire la suite
Élaboration de politiques ouverte
Le processus d’élaboration de politiques ouverte désigne de façon générale le processus de création d’une politique gouvernementale avec des contributions directes du public et d’autres parties intéressées de l’extérieur. Le processus est défini par la mentalité, les procédures e...
Lire la suite
Indicateurs sociaux
Les indicateurs sociaux mesurent et articulent les résultats sociaux. Ils tendent à décrire des façons de mesurer le changement que les personnes vivent à la suite d’une intervention particulière. Ils sont souvent utilisés par les organisations pour articuler les retombées de leurs program...
Lire la suite
Indicateurs sociaux
Les indicateurs sociaux mesurent et articulent les résultats sociaux. Ils tendent à décrire des façons de mesurer le changement que les personnes vivent à la suite d’une intervention particulière. Ils sont souvent utilisés par les organisations pour articuler les retombées de leurs program...
Lire la suite
Innovation sociale
ll existe plusieurs définitions de « l’innovation sociale », lesquelles font toutes référence de manière générale à de nouvelles solutions pour relever plus efficacement les défis sociaux complexes, tels que l’itinérance chez les jeunes, le chômage de longue durée ou l’isolement s...
Lire la suite
Intelligence artificielle
Intelligence artificielle (IA) est le terme utilisé pour décrire un ensemble de technologies apparentées qui sont conçues pour simuler et améliorer les capacités cognitives humaines telles que la reconnaissance des formes, le jugement, la vision ou l'ouïe. Son évolution peut être divisée e...
Lire la suite
L'analytique des données
« Mégadonnées » est le terme employé pour décrire la collecte, le stockage et le traitement d’énormes quantités de données. Les données peuvent être de sources internes (p. ex. systèmes d’achat ou de gestion de cas) et de sources externes (p. ex. citoyens, fournisseurs, partenaires e...
Lire la suite
L'expérimentation
L’expérimentation implique l’utilisation d’une méthode rigoureuse pour mettre à l’essai une idée ou approche pour aider à déterminer ce qui fonctionne et ce qui ne fonctionne pas. En mettant à l’essai à petite échelle les interventions ou les services découlant de politiques et d...
Lire la suite
L’externalisation ouverte
L’externalisation ouverte est la pratique consistant à obtenir des services, des idées, du contenu ou des données nécessaires en demandant des contributions à un grand groupe de personnes (habituellement au moyen d’une plateforme en ligne) plutôt qu’aux employés ou aux fournisseurs trad...
Lire la suite
L’introspection comportementale
La plupart des gens veulent adopter un mode de vie plus sain, agir de façon responsable sur le plan financier et contribuer à la création d’une société et d’un environnement durables. Cependant, la plupart d’entre nous vivons également des vies pleines d’obstacles qui nous empêchent d...
Lire la suite
La pensée design
La pensée design comprend un ensemble de principes, de pratiques et de processus servant à l’élaboration de produits, d’expériences et de services selon les besoins de l’usager. Cette approche a été adaptée afin d’aider les gouvernements à élaborer de meilleurs programmes, politique...
Lire la suite
La prospective
La prospective est une démarche consistant à anticiper et à gérer le changement. Des méthodes prospectives sont utilisées durant l’élaboration de plans et de politiques stratégiques afin d’imaginer de façon systématique différentes possibilités d’avenir selon les données, les tend...
Lire la suite
Les mutuelles de services publics
Le terme mutuelles de services publics (MSP), qu’on peut également remplacer par le mot « mutuelles », fait référence à une panoplie d’initiatives différentes qui ont en commun la prestation (totale ou partielle) de services publics par l’entremise d’un modèle de gouvernance mutuel o...
Lire la suite
Ludification
La ludification est l’utilisation d’éléments propres au jeu et de techniques de conception de jeux dans un contexte non ludique. En intégrant des éléments propres au jeu comme des points, des quêtes, des avatars ou des niveaux dans des défis concrets, les organisations peuvent créer des ...
Lire la suite
Marathons de programmation
Un marathon de programmation est un événement créatif intense (d’une durée habituellement comprise entre 24 et 72 heures) au cours duquel les participants sont répartis en équipes qui réalisent des solutions liées à un thème prédéterminé. Traditionnellement, les marathons de programma...
Lire la suite
Mégadonnées
Les mégadonnées consistent généralement en des ensembles de données si grands et si complexes que leur traitement dans des délais raisonnables au moyen des outils de gestion et d’analyse des données traditionnels présente des difficultés considérables. Il s’agit souvent d’utiliser un...
Lire la suite
Paiement selon le rendement
Le « paiement selon le rendement » désigne un mode de financement selon lequel un organisme parrain récompense financièrement une organisation de prestation de services (ou des investisseurs privés dans le cas d’une obligation à impact social) après l’atteinte des résultats ciblés conv...
Lire la suite
Réglementation intelligente
La réglementation intelligente a pour but de donner confiance au public en l’efficacité réglementaire tout en limitant le fardeau des parties réglementées. La réglementation intelligente favorise souvent l’adoption d’une « approche ascendante » à la réglementation qui offre aux entit...
Lire la suite
Science citoyenne
La science citoyenne est une technique de recherche qui invite les citoyens de l’endroit à devenir des ressources afin de recueillir de l’information pour les scientifiques dans le cadre d’un grand projet de recherche. Les citoyens scientifiques ne possèdent pas nécessairement d’antécéd...
Lire la suite

Rien n'a été trouvé

Désolé, nous n’avons rien trouvé. Essayez une autre recherche?


*Le contenu initial a été fourni par un certain nombre d'équipes du gouvernement du Canada, il a ensuite été alimenté par une expertise interne et validé par des entretiens avec des praticiens de premier plan de l'extérieur de la fonction publique. Vous pensez qu’ils nous manquent certains exemples ? Vous connaissez des idées qui peuvent être partagées ? Faites-le nous savoir !