I am a manager

Why host?

Managers are invited to:

• Be a leader in a cutting-edge program that helps grow the talent and policy capacity of the Public Service.

• Benefit and leverage having a different perspective on your team. Participants are multi-functional, have a development mindset and bring different tools and experience.

• Take charge in promoting cross-functional collaboration within your team and department. 

• Practice and enhance your coaching abilities by supporting participants’ learning.

• Hire high-potential policy practitioners with minimal HR burden.

The overall aim of the Program is to develop well-rounded cross-functional policy practitioners, meaning program participants will gain experience in different policy functions to acquire a deep understanding of the policy lifecycle, resulting in more effective policy development, implementation and evaluation. Participants will have functional breadth of expertise and will foster a culture of collaboration across departments and functional areas.

The prototype of the XFN Program has been designed to allow policy practitioners to work in up to three new policy functions during their time in the 18-month program. Assignments are 6 or 12 months long. 

Participants are expected to leave a strong impact on host organizations in which they work. They are expected to contribute to your team right away and to use their previous experience, development mindset and different set of tools to add value.

One of the unique features of the Program is the individualized support managers and participants receive from the Talent Manager. In particular, the Talent Manager will take on the majority of the HR burden to identify and bring in high-potential participants, as well as support their development throughout the Program. 

Host Participation Requirements

XFN assignment opportunities need to meet the following criteria:

•  Are 6 or 12 months in length.

•  Host team is largely focused on a single policy function.          .

•  Host team is interested in benefitting from a program participant who will have undergone a highly rigorous assessment process and can contribute from day one, while learning the new policy function

•  Host manager takes an active role in participant’s learning (e.g., coaching, assigning them challenging tasks, and integrating them into the team).

•  Host manager is eager to participate in and contribute to the prototype phase of the program. 

•  Host organization is part of one of the Policy Community funding departments

Timelines

The first two cohorts of 10 participants are a prototype only open to indeterminate and term employees located in the NCR. This tests our key assumptions and rapid learning of new policy functions. The insights from the prototype phase of the Program will inform the experience of future cohorts of the Program, inclufding participation by employees in the regions.  

Recruitment/assessment for the second cohort is targeted for fall 2019 and onboarding is targeted for January 2020. Our first cohort will be available for their final assignment of the program in Spring 2020.

Frequently Asked Questions

PROGRAM DESIGN

To create the initial design for the Program to respond to the need for greater mobility across the various policy functions we researched existing Government of Canada programs, as well as international professional development programs.

Through our engagement with the Policy Community (broad and targeted sessions with folks in specific policy functions/roles) we probed to understand the challenges/needs the program should address. Based on this input/insight, we drafted our initial design, as well as our assumptions about what conditions are needed for participants, host managers and host teams to benefit from the experience.

We had over 40 focused conversations/engagement sessions with employees and managers and consulted over 55 organizations across Canada and internationally. This approach allowed us to co-design the prototype of the Program with the Policy Community and HR ecosystem, determining what would be best for our “live” test.

 The program is geared towards providing a breadth of experience in various policy functions, developing new skills and mindsets, and growing participants as well-rounded cross-functional policy practitioners. As such, program participants joining your team on assignment are expected to have solid experience in one or more policy function - but different from what s/he will be exposed to with your team. Adding this multi-functional/disciplinary nature to your team can bring new perspectives and tools to help advance your work.

Program participants are screened for the competencies identified in the beta version of the Policy Community Competency Framework and a developmental mindset. Small cohorts (10 participants) and a rigorous assessment process will ensure that top talent is screened into the Program.

The hiring process is painless, quick, and easy - with minimal HR burden. 

We invite you to be a partner and leader in a cutting-edge program that helps grow the talent and policy capacity of the Public Service. 

The CFA Program does not focus specifically on the development of functional experience in new areas and competencies. It does not have an end-date for participants. 

The XFN Program is an 18-month program where each participant will have a Personalized Talent Plan that identifies the opportunities they need to access to enhance their skillset and acquire the functional knowledge/experience they are missing to be well-rounded policy practitioners. Participants will be able to pursue their own opportunity at one of the funding departments or have the option of choosing from the available assignments, but must work in new functional areas.

If your department is currently not a funding department of the Policy Community and you would like to explore becoming a funding department, please email: policommpoli@canada.ca 

The majority of existing developmental programs such as, the Advanced Policy Analyst Program; Post-Secondary Recruitment Program; departmental development programs are external recruitment efforts. These programs generally offer guaranteed level advancement, pending success in the program and pre-identified work opportunities.  There are also purely recruitment programs, such as the Recruitment of Policy Leaders Program, which help candidates enter the government, but do not offer guaranteed level advancement.

The XFN program is for current Government of Canada professionals in any classification who are looking to expand their skillset and acquire experience in new functional areas. Candidates will be assessed against the criteria outlined in the draft Policy Community Competency Framework and a developmental mindset. Further, each participants’ experience will be personalized, based on what they need to develop into a well-rounded cross-functional policy practitioner. Participants will receive individual support from the program’s Talent Manager to achieve their goals that are set out in their Personalized Talent Plan when they enter the program. 

Policy Community funding departments are able to host program participants. To submit an opportunity, hosts speak with the Talent Manager and complete an assignment form to outline the parameters and expectations of the opportunity.

For more information contact the Talent Manager at amanda.bloom@canada.ca.

If your department is currently not a funding department of the Policy Community and you would like to explore becoming a funding department, please email: policommpoli@canada.ca 


A variety of rigorous, novel screening and assessment tools will be used to identify top talent. 

Specifically, candidates are screened for the competencies identified in the beta version of the Policy Community Competency Framework and a developmental mindset. Should candidates make it through the initial screening, they will be invited to participate in individual and group assessment activities. 


Host managers are welcome to participate in the screening and assessment boards.

APPLICATION PROCESS

Any indeterminate public servant. The program is geared towards public servants who already have experience in one or more functional area. All classifications are welcome. 

NOTE: The second cohort for the prototype version of the Program will only be open to indeterminate employees located in the NCR. It will test the Program’s assumptions and rapid learning of new policy functions. The insights from the prototype phase of the Program will inform changes for future cohorts of the Program, including participation by employees in the regions.    

The program accepts all language profiles. Host managers may specify their language requirements. 

Application and assessment of the second cohort of 10 participants is targeted for fall 2019. Potential host managers are welcome to take part in the screening and assessment phases to see the rigorous, novel process that we use.

Onboarding of our second cohort is targeted for January 2020. Our first cohort will be available for their final assignment of the program in spring 2020. 

We strongly encourage departments to promote the Program and encourage their employees to apply. However, we want candidates to apply because they genuinely want to participate in the program. 
DURING THE PROGRAM

To hire a program participant you need a meaningful 6 or 12 month opportunity in one of the functional policy areas identified for the program.


Recall that program participants will bring expertise in a different function than the one you can provide. Therefore, you will need to take an active role in participants learning (e.g. coaching, assigning them challenging tasks and integrating them into the team).


Participants enter the program at their substantive group and level. However, should you wish to offer an opportunity above the participant’s substantive level, you will need  to inform the Talent Manager who will process the acting. 

To submit an opportunity, please speak with the Talent Manager and complete an assignment form to outline the parameters and expectations of the opportunity.

For more information contact the Talent Manager at amanda.bloom@canada.ca.

At the outset of the program, participants will be deployed into indeterminate or term positions with the program at the home department, the Canada School of Public Service.  

The program participants will be on assignment/secondment with managers in “host” departments via an Interdepartmental Letter of Agreement.

The host organization will pay for the program participant’s salary. No premium will be charged on the employee’s salary, as the administration costs for the program will be paid for by the Policy Community Partnership Office. 


The Policy Community Partnership Office will also cover any training costs up to $1000 for participants, though they will need approval for the time out of office from their host manager.

In addition to participant’s Personalized Talent Plan, they will have performance agreements in the performance management system. The Talent Manager will work with the participant’s host manager to accurately document the employee’s performance in the system, as per the regular yearly cycle.

END OF THE PROGRAM
At graduation, the XFN Program provides a pool of well-rounded, cross-functional policy practitioners that departments/hiring managers can deploy into their organization.

Submit an Assignment Opportunity

To submit an assignment opportunity, managers speak with the Talent Manager and then complete an assignment form to outline the parameters and expectations of the opportunity.


For more information or to submit an opportunity contact the Talent Manager at amanda.bloom@canada.ca.



Contact Information

XFN Program Talent Manager: Amanda Bloom: amanda.bloom@canada.ca and 613-882-0766.


Policy Community: Main website, GCcollab, Twitter 


The Policy Community Partnership Office: policommpoli@canada.ca 


Previous Next

Je suis un gestionnaire

Pourquoi accueillir un participant?

Les gestionnaires sont invités à :

•  devenir un chef de file d’un programme de pointe qui contribue à développer le talent et la capacité en matière de politiques dans la fonction publique;

•  bénéficier d'une perspective nouvelle au sein de leur équipe et la mettre à contribution. Les participants sont multifonctionnels, ont un mentalité de développement et apportent différents outils et expériences;

•  être un leader dans la promotion de la collaboration interfonctionnelle au sein de leur équipe et du ministère;

•  exercer et améliorer leurs capacités en matière d’encadrement en soutenant l’apprentissage des participants;

•  embaucher des praticiens des politiques à potentiel élevé moyennant un fardeau minime en matière de ressources humaines.

L’objectif général du Programme consiste à former des praticiens des politiques interfonctionnelles polyvalents, ce qui signifie que les participants obtiendront de l’expérience dans différentes fonctions des politiques pour acquérir une compréhension approfondie du cycle de vie des politiques, ce qui se traduira par une élaboration, une mise en œuvre et une évaluation plus efficaces des politiques. Les participants auront une expertise fonctionnelle étendue et favoriseront l’adoption d’une culture de collaboration entre les ministères et les domaines fonctionnels.

Le prototype du Programme XFN a été conçu pour permettre aux praticiens des politiques de travailler à un maximum de trois nouvelles fonctions des politiques au cours des 18 mois pendant lesquels ils participeront au Programme. Les affectations durent six ou douze mois.

Les participants sont censés avoir un impact important sur les organisations d’accueil au sein desquelles ils travaillent. Ils doivent apporter une contribution à votre équipe dès le départ et utiliser leur expérience antérieure, mentalité de développement et différents ensembles d’outils pour ajouter à sa valeur.

L'une des caractéristiques qui distinguent le Programme est le soutien personnalisé que les gestionnaires et les participants reçoivent de la gestionnaire des talents. En particulier, celle-ci assumera la plus grande partie du fardeau des RH pour trouver et recruter des participants à potentiel élevé ainsi que pour soutenir leur perfectionnement tout au long du programme. 

Exigences applicables aux équipes d’accueil

Les possibilités d’affectation du Programme XFN doivent répondre aux critères suivants :

•  être d’une durée de six ou douze mois;

•  l’équipe d’accueil doit se concentrer largement sur une seule fonction des politiques;

•  l’équipe d’accueil souhaite bénéficier des services d’un participant au programme qui aura subi un processus d’évaluation très rigoureux et pourra lui apporter une contribution dès le premier jour tout en faisant l’apprentissage de la nouvelle fonction des politiques;

•  le gestionnaire d’accueil joue un rôle actif dans l’apprentissage du participant (p. ex., en l’encadrant, en lui confiant des tâches difficiles et en l’intégrant à l’équipe);

•  le gestionnaire d’accueil a très envie de participer à la phase prototype du programme et d’y apporter une contribution;

•  l’organisation d’accueil fait partie de l’un des ministères qui financent la Communauté des politiques.

Échéanciers

Les deux cohorte sera un prototype et les employés indéterminés situés dans la RCN dans n'importe quelle classification pourront y participer. Elle nous permettra de vérifier les hypothèses du programme et de tester l’apprentissage rapide des nouvelles fonctions des politiques. Les leçons tirées de cette phase du programme éclaireront l'expérience des futures cohortes, y compris la participation des employés des régions.

Le recrutement / l'évaluation de la deuxième cohorte est prévue pour l’été 2019, et l'intégration pour janvier 2020. Notre première cohorte sera disponible pour leur affectation finale du programme au printemps 2020.

Questions fréquemment posées

CONCEPTION DU PROGRAMME

Pour créer le cadre initial du Programme visant à répondre au besoin d’une plus grande mobilité entre les différentes fonctions de politiques, nous avons examiné les programmes actuels du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que les programmes de perfectionnement professionnels internationaux.

Dans le cadre de nos échanges avec la Communauté des politiques (séances vastes et ciblées avec des gens occupant des rôles ou des fonctions de politiques spécifiques), nous avons sondé les gens afin de comprendre les difficultés et les besoins que le programme devrait permettre d’aborder. Nous nous sommes appuyés sur les commentaires et les perspectives recueillis pour élaborer le cadre initial ainsi que les conditions que nous supposions nécessaires pour que les participants, ainsi que les gestionnaires et les équipes d’accueil, puissent tirer profit de cette expérience.


Nous avons tenu plus de 40 conversations/séances de consultation ciblées avec des employés et des gestionnaires et avons consulté plus de 55 organismes à l’échelle du Canada et à l’étranger. Cette démarche nous a permis de concevoir le prototype du Programme conjointement avec la Communauté des politiques et l’écosystème des RH et de déterminer ce qui serait mieux pour l’essai du « lancement ».

Le programme vise à fournir aux participants un vaste éventail d’expériences dans diverses fonctions des politiques et à leur permettre d’acquérir de nouvelles compétences et démarches de perfectionnement et de devenir des praticiens des politiques interfonctionnelles polyvalents. Les participants au programme qui se joignent à votre équipe lors d’une affectation doivent donc posséder une solide expérience d’une ou plusieurs fonctions des politiques qui diffèrent de celles auxquelles ils seront exposés au sein de votre équipe. L’ajout de cette nature multifonctionnelle / multidisciplinaire à votre équipe peut apporter de nouvelles perspectives et de nouveaux outils pour faire avancer votre travail.

Les participants au programme sont sélectionnés en fonction des compétences recensées dans la version bêta du Cadre des compétences de la Communauté des politiques et de leur démarche de perfectionnement. La petite taille des cohortes (dix participants) et un processus d’évaluation rigoureux permettront de sélectionner les meilleurs talents pour le programme.


Le processus d'embauche est simple, rapide et aisé et le fardeau qu’il représente en termes de ressources humaines est minime.


Nous vous invitons à devenir un partenaire et un leader d’un programme de pointe qui contribue à développer les talents et la capacité en matière de politiques de la fonction publique. 


Le programme des agents libres n’est pas axé sur l’acquisition d’une expérience fonctionnelle dans de nouveaux domaines et compétences. Il n'a pas de date de fin pour les participants.

Le programme XFN est un programme de 18 mois dans lequel chaque participant dispose d'un plan individuel des talents qui indique les possibilités auxquelles il a besoin d’accéder pour améliorer son ensemble de compétences et acquérir les connaissances / l’expérience fonctionnelles qui lui manquent pour devenir un praticien des politiques polyvalent. Les participants au programme peuvent trouver leur propre poste au sein de l’un des ministères qui le financent ou choisir l’une des affectations disponibles mais doivent travailler dans de nouveaux domaines fonctionnels. 


La majorité des programmes de perfectionnement existants, tels que le Programme avancé pour les analystes des politiques, le Programme de recrutement postsecondaire,  en politiques et les programmes de perfectionnement ministériels, sont des efforts de recrutement externe. Ces programmes offrent généralement de l’avancement garanti, à condition que le participant réussisse dans le programme et les possibilités de travail prédéterminées. Il existe également des programmes purement de recrutement, tels que le Programme de recrutement de leaders, qui aident les candidats à entrer dans le gouvernement mais n'offrent pas d'avancement garanti.

Le programme XFN est destiné aux professionnels du gouvernement du Canada de toutes les classifications qui souhaitent élargir leur ensemble de compétences et acquérir de l’expérience dans de nouveaux domaines fonctionnels. Les candidats seront évalués en fonction des critères présentés dans l'ébauche de cadre des compétences de la Communauté des politiques et de leur démarche de perfectionnement. De plus, l’expérience de chaque participant sera personnalisée en fonction de ce dont il a besoin pour devenir un praticien des politiques interfonctionnelles polyvalent. Les participants bénéficieront d'un soutien personnalisé fourni par la gestionnaire des talents du programme pour atteindre leurs objectifs qui sont définis dans leur plan individuel des talents lors de leur admission au programme. 


Les ministères qui financent la Communauté des politiques peuvent accueillir des participants au programme. Pour soumettre une possibilité, les gestionnaires d’accueil doivent communiquer avec la gestionnaire des talents et remplir un formulaire d’affectation pour décrire les paramètres et les attentes de la possibilité.

Pour de plus amples informations, communiquez avec la gestionnaire des talents à l'adresse amanda.bloom@canada.ca.

Si votre ministère n’est pas un ministère qui finance la Communauté des politiques à l’heure actuelle et que vous souhaitez étudier la possibilité qu’il le devienne, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : policommpoli@canada.ca 

Divers outils de sélection et d'évaluation rigoureux et novateurs seront utilisés pour déterminer quels sont les meilleurs talents.

Plus précisément, les candidats sont sélectionnés en fonction des compétences recensées dans la version bêta du Cadre des compétences de la Communauté des politiques et de leur démarche de perfectionnement. Si les candidats franchissent l’étape de la sélection initiale, ils seront invités à participer à des activités d'évaluation individuelles et de groupe. 

Les gestionnaires d’accueil qui souhaitent participer aux activités des comités de sélection et d’évaluation sont les bienvenus.


PROCESSUS DE DEMANDE

Tous les fonctionnaires nommés pour une période indéterminée ou déterminée. Le programme s'adresse aux fonctionnaires qui possèdent déjà de l'expérience dans un ou plusieurs domaines fonctionnels. Toutes les classifications sont les bienvenues. 

REMARQUE: La deuxième cohorte de la version prototype du Programme sera réservée aux employés nommés pour une période indéterminée situés dans la RCN. Elle mettra à l’essai les hypothèses du Programme et l’apprentissage rapide des nouvelles fonctions des politiques. Les enseignements tirés de la phase prototype du Programme éclaireront les modifications apportées pour les futures cohortes du Programme, y compris pour la participation des employés des régions.  

Le programme accepte tous les profils linguistiques. Les gestionnaires d’accueil peuvent préciser leurs exigences linguistiques. 

La présentation des demandes et l'évaluation de la deuxième cohorte de dix participants sont prévues pour l’été 2019. Les gestionnaires d’accueil potentiels qui souhaitent prendre part aux phases de la sélection et de l'évaluation afin d’observer le processus rigoureux et novateur utilisé sont les bienvenus.

L'intégration de la deuxième cohorte est prévue pour janvier 2020. Notre première cohorte sera disponible pour leur affectation finale du programme au printemps 2020.    

Nous encourageons fortement les ministères à faire connaître le Programme et à encourager leurs employés à présenter une demande. Cependant, nous voulons que les candidats présentent une demande parce qu’ils souhaitent réellement participer au programme. 
PENDANT LE PROGRAMME

Pour embaucher un participant au programme, vous devez offrir une possibilité pertinente d’une durée de six ou douze mois dans l'un des domaines des politiques fonctionnelles recensés pour le programme.

N’oubliez pas que les participants au programme apporteront une expertise dans une fonction qui différera de celle que vous pouvez leur offrir. Par conséquent, vous devrez jouer un rôle actif dans l’apprentissage des participants (p. ex., en les encadrant, en leur confiant des tâches difficiles et en les intégrant à l’équipe).

Les participants entre le programme dans leur groupe et à leur niveau de titularisation. Toutefois, si vous souhaitez offrir une possibilité à un niveau supérieur au niveau de titularisation du participant, vous devrez informé la gestionnaire des talents qui fournira de la demande de dotation intérimaire. 


Pour soumettre une possibilité, veuillez communiquer avec la gestionnaire des talents et remplir un formulaire d’affectation afin de définir les paramètres et les attentes de la possibilité.

Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez communiquer avec la gestionnaire des talents à l'adresse amanda.bloom@canada.ca.

Au début du programme, les participants seront affectés à des postes pour une période indéterminée ou déterminée au sein du ministère d’attache du programme, l’École de la fonction publique du Canada.  

Les participants au programme seront en affectation / détachement auprès des gestionnaires des ministères « d’accueil » en vertu d’une lettre d'entente interministérielle.

L’organisation d’accueil paiera le salaire du participant au programme. Aucun supplément ne sera facturé sur le salaire de l’employé, car les frais d’administration du Programme seront à la charge du Bureau des partenariats de la Communauté des politiques.

Le Bureau des partenariats de la Communauté des politiques assumera également les frais de formation des participants jusqu'à $1000, mais ceux-ci devront obtenir une autorisation de leur gestionnaire d'accueil pour le temps passé à l’extérieur du bureau.

En plus de leur plan individuel des talents, les participants auront des ententes de rendement dans le système de gestion du rendement.La gestionnaire des talents travaillera avec le gestionnaire d’accueil du participant pour documenter son rendement dans le système avec exactitude en fonction du cycle annuel habituel.

FIN DU PROGRAMME
À sa conclusion, le programme XFN fournira un bassin de praticiens des politiques interfonctionnelles polyvalents que les ministères / gestionnaires d’embauche pourront déployer dans leur organisation.

Soumettre une possibilité d'affectation

Pour soumettre une possibilité d’affectation, les gestionnaires doivent s’adresser à la gestionnaire des talents et remplir un formulaire d’affectation pour décrire les paramètres et les attentes de la possibilité.

Pour obtenir de plus amples informations ou pour soumettre une possibilité, veuillez communiquer avec la gestionnaire des talents à l’adresse amanda.bloom@canada.ca.

Coordonnées

Gestionnaire des talents du Programme XFN : Amanda Bloom : amanda.bloom@canada.ca et 613-882-0766.

Communauté des politiques : Site Web principal, GCcollab, Twitter 

Bureau des partenariats de la Communauté des politiques : policommpoli@canada.ca 


Previous Next