February 20 & 21, 2019 | National Arts Center

Policy Community Conference 2019

Contest Rules

Read closely before submitting your entry

1. General

The Policy Perspectives Photo Contest is governed by these Rules and Regulations. The Contest is administered by the Policy Community Partnership Office.

2. Start/End Dates

The Contest starts on January 24, 2019 and ends at 11:59 p.m., Eastern Time, on February 12, 2019.

3. Eligibility

The Contest is open to public servants in the Canadian federal government (indeterminate/term/casual/student). Entrants are not eligible to win more than one Prize.

4. Contest Entries

Each Contest entry must include a photo and written description of the policy perspective/moment it captures. Entries must also include details of when and where the photos were taken.

All photographs entered in the Contest must be original material and are intended for the general public service. Entrants are fully responsible for the photographs they submit. Contest Administrators will not accept photographic entries that are offensive and reserve the right to disqualify, in their sole discretion, any photographic entries that contain, for example, racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic or pornographic content.

Specifications:

All photographic entries must be submitted electronically as .jpg files through the website provided. Digital files should be at least 1,000 pixels wide for a horizontal image or 1,000 pixels tall for a vertical image at 72 dpi. Content alteration of digital files is not acceptable. Cropping of photographs and tonal or colour corrections are permitted.

In addition to the photo submitted, entrants must also provide a compelling paragraph (no more than 300 words) describing the policy moment illustrated in their photo. This description can be provided in either French or English.

Entrants must be able provide a high-resolution version of each photographic entry (uncompressed TIFF or maximum quality JPEG, Grayscale or Colour (RGB), minimum 4,000 pixels on the longest side). The Contest Administrators may require a high-resolution file for any photograph selected as a winning entry.

By entering and participating in the Contest, you consent to the use of your photograph and paragraph description by the Policy Community Partnership Office for promotional use, during or after the Contest, without compensation (promotional material includes print or electronic marketing and activities such as online images, social media content, promotional activities brochures, booklets, videos, annual reports).

Note: Entrants must obtain all necessary permissions and other approvals from third parties (including all individuals appearing in the submission), necessary to use the photographic entry, in whole or in part, in any way. Any and all such permissions and approvals must be included at the time of entry into the Contest. 

5. Prizes

Each prize consists of one of fifteen (15) tickets to attend the 2019 Policy Community Conference in Ottawa. This includes admission into the Conference and DOES NOT include winners’ travel or incidentals associated with attending the event.

6. Selection of Winners

The winners of the prizes will be chosen and evaluated based on the following judging criteria:  content/originality, technical quality and visual impact/power to evoke.

The winners will be announced to the Policy Community on February 11, 2019 on the Conference web site and GCCollab. Winners will be notified by email (to the address provided at entry). Winners must seek their managers’ approval to attend the conference.

7. Privacy

By entering this Contest, each entrant is deemed to automatically have provided his/her/their consent that personal information collected from entrants will only be used by the Contest Administrators to administer the Contest and to publish the winning submissions.

Le 20 et 21 février | Centre national des Arts

La Conférence de la Communauté des politiques 2019

Règles du concours

Lisez attentivement avant de soumettre votre soumission

1. Renseignements généraux

Le concours de photos Perspectives des politiques est régi par ces règles et règlements. Le concours est administré par le Bureau des partenariats de la communauté des politiques.

2. Dates de début et de fin

Le concours commence le 24 janvier 2019 et prend fin à 23 h 59, heure normale de l’Est, le 12 février 2019.

3. Admissibilité

Le concours est ouvert aux fonctionnaires du gouvernement fédéral canadien (période indéterminée/ période déterminée/occasionnel/étudiant). Les participants ne peuvent gagner plus d’un prix.

4. Inscriptions aux concours

Chaque inscription au concours doit inclure une photo et une description écrite de la perspective ou du moment stratégique saisi dans la photo. Les inscriptions doivent également inclure les dates et les lieux où ont été prises les photos.
Les photos inscrites au concours doivent être les versions originales et doivent s’adresser à l’ensemble de la fonction publique. Les participants sont entièrement responsables des photos qu’ils envoient. Les administrateurs du concours n’accepteront pas de photos offensantes et se réservent le droit, à leur seule discrétion, de disqualifier toute photo qui contient, par exemple, du contenu raciste, haineux, sexiste, homophobe ou pornographique.

Exigences :

Les photos doivent être envoyées par voie électronique sous formes de fichiers JPG par l’entremise du site Web indiqué. Les fichiers numériques doivent avoir une largeur d’au moins 1 000 pixels dans le cas des photos horizontales ou une hauteur d’au moins 1 000 pixels dans le cas des images verticales à 72 ppp. Les fichiers numériques dont le contenu a été modifié ne sont pas acceptables. Le recadrage de photos et les corrections de ton et de couleur sont toutefois permis.
Les participants doivent aussi fournir avec leurs photos une légende (pas plus de 300 mots) qui décrit de façon intéressante le moment de politiques saisi dans la photo. La légende peut être en français ou en anglais.
Les participants doivent fournir une version haute résolution de chaque photo (fichier TIFF non comprimé ou JPEG qualité maximum, niveaux de gris ou couleur (RVB), minimum de 4 000 pixels sur le côté le plus long). Les administrateurs du concours peuvent exiger un fichier haute résolution pour une photo gagnante sélectionnée.
En vous inscrivant au concours et en y participant, vous consentez à ce que votre photo et la légende soient utilisées par le Bureau des partenariats de la communauté des politiques à des fins promotionnelles, durant ou après le concours, sans rémunération (le matériel promotionnel inclut les activités de marketing et autres sous forme imprimée ou électroniques telles que les images en ligne, le contenu de médias sociaux, les brochures d’activités promotionnelles, les livrets, les vidéos, les rapports annuels).
Remarque : Les participants doivent obtenir toutes les permissions nécessaires et autres autorisations des tiers (notamment celles de toutes les personnes qui figurent sur les photos) qui sont nécessaires pour utiliser les photos, en tout ou en partie, de quelque façon que ce soit. Ces permissions et autorisations doivent être fournies au moment de l’inscription au concours.

5. Prix

Chaque prix comprend un des quinze (15) billets pour assister à la Conférence 2019 de la Communauté des politiques. Il est question de l’entrée à la conférence et NON des frais de voyage et autres frais accessoires engagés par les gagnants pour assister à l’activité.

6. Sélection des gagnants

Les gagnants des prix seront choisis et évalués en fonction des critères suivants : contenu/originalité, qualité technique et impact visuel/pouvoir évocateur.

Les gagnants seront annoncés à la Communauté des politiques le 11 février 2019 sur le site Web de la conférence et sur GCCollab. Les gagnants seront avisés par courriel (à l’adresse fournie à l’inscription). Les gagnants doivent obtenir la permission de leurs gestionnaires pour participer à la conférence. 

Les chances de gagner un prix dépendront du nombre de photos admissibles reçues et de l’évaluation des photos faite par le jury.

7. Confidentialité

En s’inscrivant au concours, le participant est automatiquement réputé avoir consenti à ce que ses renseignements personnels recueillis soient utilisés par les administrateurs pour administrer le concours et publier les photos gagnantes.